Skip To Main Content


IB Units are organized under 6 major themes:

•Who We Are
•Where We Are in Time and Place
•How We Express Ourselves
•How the World Works
•How We Organize Ourselves
•Sharing the Planet

Each grade level works as a team to develop one unit for each theme. The resulting K-5 plan is called the Programme of Inquiry (POI). Each unit is inquiry-based and transdisciplinary in nature.

The Central Idea and Lines of Inquiry:

The backbone of each IB unit is the “Central Idea." Central ideas are global and timeless. Based on the Central Idea, the grade level team develops 2-3 lines of inquiry of each IB unit.